Iron Chef Mommy

The journey of a mother and wife in her very own kitchen stadium

Mac and cheese…a la… me?

Posted by ironchefmommy on January 8, 2010

Mac and cheese… one of my favorite foods.  I grew up on Velveeta, from my mom, and yes, ate my way through my fair share of Easy Mac when I was just a broke student at the University of Scranton, but I’m way past that. I’ve tried a few different recipes for homemade macaroni and cheese, and none of them really spoke to me like a real comfort food can. After thinking of which parts made each dish yummy, I tried my hand at my own original recipe. It’s simple enough for even the most novice of cooks, but it can be doctored with different types of cheeses depending on your taste or preference. Also, I find that sometimes, recipes can be geared towards a larger amount (4, 6, or 8 people) and I either have a ton left over that doesn’t taste the same when it’s reheated, or it ends up getting lost in a Tupperware in the back of the fridge. This is the perfect amount for the 3 of us – there’s usually just enough left for Madeline for lunch the next day, with whatever vegetable we had with it the night before.

My own Macaroni and cheese

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
5 tablespoons butter, divided
3 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt (use 3/4 to 1 tsp if using unsalted butter)
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 2/3 cups milk
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
2 ounces Velveeta cheese, cubed
3 tablespoons dry bread crumbs

Directions:

Elbow macaroni cooks in about 8 minutes to tender, 6 minutes to al dente. I usually cook it about 5 – otherwise once you bake it, it’s all a little mushy. Always undercook it a bit when you’re going to bake the pasta.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter over a medium heat. Add the salt and pepper, and whisk in one tablespoon of flour at a time until smooth. Continue to whisk as you slowly add the milk. Bring to a boil for about a minute or so, then slowly add the cheese – the shredded first, then the cubed, whisking the whole time.

Grease a 1 1/2 quart baking dish. Pour in pasta, then add cheese sauce. Mix together. Melt the last tablespoon of butter, add the breadcrumbs to form a crumbly mixture and sprinkle over the top. Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes.

One Response to “Mac and cheese…a la… me?”

  1. First off nice post. Im unsure if it has been talked about, however when using Explorer I can never get the entire page to load without refreshing several times. Could just be my CPU. Appreciate your work

Leave a Reply

 
