Iron Chef Mommy

The journey of a mother and wife in her very own kitchen stadium

A tribute to Mom for her birthday

Posted by ironchefmommy on January 2, 2010

Happy Birthday to my wonderful Mom today! I’m sorry I couldn’t be with her today, but I’ll be seeing her in a week or two so that will have to do. In the meantime, in honor of my mom (who’s a fantastic cook) please, the next time you make pasta, try out her sauce recipe. It’s been passed through our family and is my go-to recipe for whenever I need a big bowl of yummy pasta.

*Beware, this is a big batch of sauce. I freeze half of it and it usually takes 2 meals to use the other half)

Ingredients:

2 28oz cans crushed tomatoes
2 cans tomato paste
3-4 cloves garlic (more or less depending on taste)
olive oil
fresh basil
1 1/2 pounds ground beef
5-6 boneless pork spare ribs (optional, but yummy)
wine (red or white)

Brown the beef in a seperate pan, drain grease and set aside. Do the same with the pork (I don’t always add the pork, it just depends on when I decide to make the sauce and what’s in my fridge)
In the bottom of a large saucepan (5-6 quarts) cover the bottom with olive oil and add garlic. When the garlic just begins to sizzle, add the cans of crushed tomatoes and paste, stir well. Add fresh basil, and if you feel in the mood, some fresh rosemary if you have it.
Now comes the wine. First, pour yourself a glass. If you put white wine in the sauce it lightens it up and makes it slightly sweeter, a red will make the sauce taste more full-bodied. I tend to use red more than white, but it’s preference. I fill the cans of tomato paste a little more than halfway with the wine, swish, and toss in.

Add the meat, stirring occassionally. Leave uncovered and simmer for at least 60 minutes. Add (more) garlic, salt and pepper if necessary.

In the fridge, the sauce will keep about 4-5 days.

Enjoy! This sauce is great – I use it to make everything from a simple pasta dinner to the sauce in my lasagna or baked ziti if I want some meat in it.

and again, Happy Birthday Mom!!! Love you!

One Response to “A tribute to Mom for her birthday”

  1. […] ounces red sauce (see my sauce recipe HERE) 1 pound ziti 12-16 oz shredded mozzarella, divided (use the whole milk stuff for this recipe. The […]

Leave a Reply

 
